3rd grade paper mache, finished!

After three class periods working on paper mache fictional animals, the kids finished yesterday! Yay, and they turned out so well!paper-mache-collageMaterials we used:

for the skeleton: small paper cups, balloons, pipe cleaners, Popsicle sticks, masking tape, foil.

for the skin: watery glue and strips of newspaper and paper towels

for color: acrylic paint and glitter glue

About angieastalker

I'm an: Artist Designer Swimmer Wife Sister Daughter Dog Owner Teacher

4 comments

  1. Sue

    What a great idea. I am going to try it with my kids!

  2. Sue

    Hi,
    I am in the process of making some paper mache bugs with my class this week. Thanks for the inspiration. Love the woven houses. I wish I had seen that before we started our weaving project. I will try it as an extension activity for the kids who were really into it.

  3. Brittany

    Hi! I am a first year art teacher and I am on a cart as well! How are you able to do clay or paper mache, or any 3D art for that matter, on a cart?

    • Sculpture is tough in a cart. When working on sculpture projects, I bring a big plastic box to store all the sculptures. The paper mache is a bit tricky because the sculptures can only stay in the box temporarily so they don’t get glued together. I collect all of the projects at the end of class, take them to my tiny art shed or to my house to sprawl them out to dry.

Leave a Reply

