Kinder Playground Alphabet

kinder-alphabet-smallImagine the letter T.  If T was gigantic, how could it be used on a playground? Could you add a swing, how about a slide, maybe monkey bars?

This projects was all aobut imaginiation. Each kinder had one letter of the alphabet to work with.  They had the challange to transform the letter into a playground structure.  They used a felt pen and a water wash to give the letter structure depth and a shaddow like effect.

About angieastalker

I'm an: Artist Designer Swimmer Wife Sister Daughter Dog Owner Teacher

10 comments

  1. What a FUN idea!! I will definitely be trying this one!!!

  2. I love this project. I can’t believe it’s K! I especially like the shadowy effect of the marker and water wash. Lovely. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I love this unit! I am working on it right now with my kindergarten students. They LOVE it, too! Thanks for the great idea!

  4. I just posted examples of the two units I taught after looking at your post. I changed things up a little (even though I LOVED the results of yours!) Check it out, and again thanks for the inspiration!

  5. I did this today with my kindergartners–we did them as crayon drawings, and then colored bits of it in marker and painted over with water to activate the marker colors into watercolor “paint” that spread around and made a nice blush of color behind the crayon. The complementary colors that a few children chose turned out the most dynamic, but even the pink and purple combos (many many of these) were very nice. And such imagination! Thanks for the ideas. You have a great blog of many things.

  6. Pingback: G2| LETTER PLAYGROUNDS « Elementary, Art!

  7. I just did this with my kinders today. I adapted the lesson as a name art lesson – each child did the first letter of his or her name. I also used a xeroxed die-cut letter as a starting point. We colored in with construction paper crayons. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful lesson.

    Rina in San Diego

  8. Pingback: Playground Name Art » K - 6 Art

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

